About us

We are the new, government-owned policy bank - launched in June 2021 - providing £22bn of infrastructure finance and partnering with the private sector and local government to finance a green industrial revolution and drive growth across the country.


We are wholly owned and backed by HM Treasury, but we will be operationally independent.

Our relationship with HM Treasury is set out in our Framework Document.

Our senior team

Chris Grigg, CBE


Chris brings extensive business and finance leadership to the Bank.

He served as the CEO of British Land for eleven years until November 2020, where amongst other things he oversaw large scale property development projects. Previously, he was Chief Executive of Barclays Commercial Bank and a partner at Goldman Sachs. He has served on the Board of BAE Systems since 2013 – where he is currently the Senior Independent Director – and is on the corporate board of Cancer Research UK.

John Flint

Chief Executive Officer

John is a banker with a wealth of experience in the industry. He is the former Group Chief Executive of HSBC, a company with which he spent 30 years, having first joined them in 1989 as a graduate trainee. 

In that time, he worked across the business, serving in various senior leadership positions as Chief Executive Officer of Retail Banking & Wealth Management, Chief of Staff to the Group Chief Executive of HSBC, Chief Executive of Global Asset Management, Group Treasurer and Deputy Head of Global Markets. 

David Lunn

Chief Operating Officer

David joins UKIB from HM Treasury where he was the Europe Director, leading on the implementation of EU Exit and HM Treasury’s broader Europe policy.

In that role, he served as the UK’s representative on the European Investment Bank’s Board of Directors. Before this, he worked in UK Financial Investments, when it managed the government's investments in the Royal Bank of Scotland, Lloyds Banking Group and UK Asset Resolution.

Charles Donald

Non-Executive Director

Charles was appointed Chief Executive of UK Government Investments in March 2020, having joined in May 2018 as Head of the Financial Institutions Group.

He joined UK Government Investments from Credit Suisse where he was Vice Chairman of UK Advisory & Corporate Broking having previously been Co-Head of UK Investment Banking. He heads the Government’s Corporate Finance Profession. 

Gay Huey Evans, CBE

Non-Executive Director (interim)

Gay has significant business and finance experience. She is currently Chair of the London Metal Exchange, as well as serving on the Boards of Standard Chartered, ConocoPhillips and IHS Market.

She is a Trustee of Benjamin Franklin House, Senior Advisor to Chatham House and a member of the US Council on Foreign Relations and the IUKFP (Indian UK Financial Partnership).

Non-executive Directors

Bridget Rosewell CBE, MA, MPhil, FICE, FACSS, FSPE

ARC Chair and Board member

Bridget Rosewell is an experienced director, policy maker and economist, with a track record in advising public and private sector clients on key strategic issues. She chairs Atom Bank and the M6 Toll Company and is a non-executive for Northumbrian Water Group. Among other roles, she has chaired DVSA, been Senior Independent Director for Network Rail and Chief Economic Adviser to the Greater London Authority.

She was appointed CBE in December 2018 and is also a Fellow of the Institution of Civil Engineers, the Academy of Social Science and the Society of Professional Economists. She writes on finance, risk and uncertainty as well as infrastructure and modelling validation.

She has worked extensively on cities, infrastructure and finance, advising on projects in road and rail and on major property developments and regeneration. She has advised on changes to planning regulation and TfL’s finances and has appeared at planning Inquiries.

Tania Songini

Interim RemCo Chair and Board member

Over the last six years Tania Songini has built a portfolio of non-executive director roles including companies such as The Private Infrastructure Development Group (a development finance fund for infrastructure projects in Africa and Asia), Thrive Renewables, Guernsey Electricity and the Energy Systems Catapult. Prior to 2015 Tania worked for the leading global engineering and technology services company Siemens for 18 years in their logistics, healthcare and energy businesses, where she held a number of finance director roles, including more recently Siemens’ energy business in the UK and NW Europe.

Her energy experience is predominantly around renewable power generation and decentralised energy systems. Tania is the Chair of ViaNinos UK, a charity supporting street children in Ecuador.

Nigel Topping

Board member

Nigel Topping brings a unique mix of experience in running manufacturing businesses in UK regions and working on the industrial transformation to the zero-carbon economy. He spent the first half of his career in automotive component manufacturing, including running businesses in Manchester and Hartlepool, and then as part of the MBO team which took TMD Friction private and turned it into the biggest manufacturer of brake pads in the world. Since 2006 Nigel has been working on how to use the power of business to accelerate the zero-carbon transition, working at CDP, leading the We Mean Business Coalition, launching the Science Based Targets Initiative and most recently appointed by the Prime Minister as the High Level Climate Action Champion for COP26 where he launched the Race To Zero and the 2030 Climate Breakthroughs. In April 2021 Nigel launched the Glasgow Finance Alliance for Net Zero with Mark Carney.

Marianne Økland

Board member

Marianne Økland currently serves on the Board of Directors of Scorpio Tankers Inc and as an independent director on the Professional Welsh Rugby Board responsible for the Welsh national teams and professional regional teams. Previously she held various board positions including chairing a number of board committees at IDFC Limited, (Infrastructure Development Finance Company) IDFC Alternatives (India), Islandsbanki (Iceland), the National Bank of Greece, NLB (Slovenia) as well as Hermitage Offshore. Her executive career was spent at JP Morgan and UBS structuring and raising debt capital for some of the most significant mergers and acquisitions in the Nordic area. She also headed the European operations of Marsoft advising banks and large shipping, oil and raw material companies on shipping strategies and investments. Ms. Økland is a Norwegian national holding a M.Sc. degree in Finance and Economics from the Norwegian School of Economics and Business Administration where she also worked as a researcher and taught mathematics and statistics.

If you have a project that you would like to discuss with us, please get in touch.

We launched, in interim form, in June 2021.
We will scale up our activity, incrementally increasing our capacity and capability.
The government will legislate to put the Bank on a statutory footing at the earliest opportunity.